Return to James Durbin






James Durbin broke the mould for American Idol contestants earlier this year with his hard rock and metal influenced performances that went against the grain of the show’s typically pop fare. Now, Durbin is set to release his debut record, the lead single from which, "Stand Up", has premiered on the second instalment of the "Official Gameday NFL Music" EP, according to Noisecreep. The EP also features tracks from Hinder and Sammy Hagar.

Durbin, who made it through to the finals of this year’s American Idol competition, has recently signed to Wind-Up records, the stable for such hard rock acts as Evanescence, Creed and Bayside. The singer/guitarist’s record, which is to be titled Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster, is scheduled for release in November, and will feature song writing contributions from long time Aerosmith collaborator Marti Frederiksen and James Michael of Sixx AM. Swedish rockers Hardcore Superstar will also feature on the album. Howard Benson, famous for working with Papa Roach and Voivod, has produced the disc.

While on American Idol, Durbin performed a number of classic rock staples including "Dream On" and "I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing" by Aerosmith, "You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’" by Judas Priest, "Don’t Stop Believin’" by Journey and "Uprising" by Muse. Durbin was eliminated in the top 4 of Season 10, yet reappeared on the show’s finale, to sing "Livin’ After Midnight" and "Breaking The Law" backed by Heavy Metal legends Judas Priest. Prior to his stint on Idol, Durbin was the lead singer of metal band Hollywood Scars, who were influenced by groups such as Judas Priest, Motley Crue, Metallica and Guns N Roses.