Return to James Durbin






James Durbin Has Every Reason to "Celebrate" New Music Release
March 19, 2014 07:48 PM Filed in: New Music | Albums | #LOAR | @LOAR_Music | Rock | Pop
"Celebrate" Album Review

Seeing Santa Cruz, California native James Durbin in concert on his national tour is a must. The American Idol alum shows up full force with a voice that redefines the standard in pop rock. His new sophomore album "CELEBRATE" is a look into his transformation and is set for release April 8, 2014 via Wind-up Records. "Parachute" is the first single released from "CELEBRATE" and makes a bold announcement that Durbin is ready to "jump" into the world of pop rock with hooks and beats that stick in your mind sweet with a distinctive bite like caramel in your teeth.

American Rock Star James Durbin is Shining a Little Bit Brighter: "Celebrate" Album Interview with Nicole Hanratty

"You're Not Alone" is a standout on the album and as Durbin sings "Love is all I have for you…" you can't help but be drawn into his velvet voice which wraps you up in warmth to carry you home. In concert, the song is just as strong if not even more compelling when you feel his soul seep out through the notes. This by and large seems to be the overall outcome of Durbin's songwriting in "CELEBRATE." The album--on which he wrote ten of the eleven songs--track after track is genuine, impassioned and honest which translates well live. Whatever notions Durbin fans may have that he has gone too far pop will be well put to ease with song "You Can't Believe," which flat brings the hard edge sound and hammers home the definitive core of James Durbin as heavy drums with soaring vocals.

“Celebrate” is available for purchase via iTunes here

It's heartbreaking to hear him sing the fourth track on the album "Issues." The lyrics hint at an acknowledgement of his own life struggles, "I was broken right from the start. I'm no different that you are…but just like you I've got issues." His inspirational story of overcoming obstacles as well as creating a stellar sophomore album, gives James Durbin every right to "CELEBRATE."

1. Children Under the Sun
2. Parachute
3. You Can't Believe
4. Issues
5. Fool For You
6. Louder Than a Loaded Gun
7. Live Right Now
8. You're Not Alone
9. Forget It
10. Celebrate
11. Real Love



James Durbin is gearing up for his sophomore CD release CELEBRATE on April 8, 2014 and performed his new single, “Parachute” on Conan – click here:
as well as Fox’s Good Day LA morning show – click here:

“Parachute” is the lead track off of CELEBRATE and has been one of the most added new songs at Hot AC radio. “Parachute” is available for purchase via iTunes here.

December 27, 2013 Los Angeles, CA – James Durbin has announced the initial dates for his upcoming 2014 acoustic US tour beginning January 3, 2014 at The Viper Room in Los Angeles. The six week trek will end on February15 at The Catalyst in Santa Cruz. Kelley James will be direct support on all shows. All confirmed dates listed below.

After a flurry of tweets poured through to twitter from fans wanting to tweet to unveil the album cover, James Durbin recently revealed the album cover artwork and full track listing for his sophomore CD release titled, CELEBRATE. Wind-up Records will release CELEBRATE on April 8, 2014.

As previously announced, James, who co-wrote 10 of the albums 11 tracks is busy putting the finishing touches on the 2014 release with producer Scott Stevens. The first single from CELEBRATE is “Parachute” and is available for purchase via iTunes here.

The lyric video for “Parachute,” an homage to 80’s retro arcade games, made its premiere on Yahoo! Music and can be viewed on James’ VEVO channel on YouTube


In addition, a robust album pre-order campaign for CELEBRATE includes the following four offers: 1. Autographed album. 2. Autographed album & exclusive Tourette Syndrome Association (TSA) Charity shirt - $5 from each sale is donated to the TSA. 3. Autographed album & exclusive “CELEBRATE” bracelet. 4. Autographed album & exclusive hoodie & limited edition autographed canvas photo print. All orders will automatically grant fans access to exclusive VIP opportunities with James (buyers will receive a special code allowing them early purchase for VIP opps and concert tickets). All orders include an instant download of “Parachute” at

“Parachute” is the first new music from James since his last two singles “Love Me Bad” and “Stand Up” were released in 2011. “Love Me Bad” cracked the Top 30 at Hot AC/Top 40 radio while the anthemic NFL rock single “Stand Up” landed in the Top 20. “Stand Up” was an official NFL anthem used on jumbotrons nationwide during the NFL’s 2011-12 seasons. Both tracks were featured on his debut release Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster which debuted in the Top 10 on Billboard’s Rock Album chart and #36 on Billboard’s Top 200 Album chart. MOAB has sold over 120,000 copies to date and was named one of Billboard’s Best Rock Albums of 2012.

“Parachute” showcases new territory for James leaning more on sing-a-long choruses with crisp pop-rock hooks while still letting his powerful and energetic voice shine. “Parachute was the 10th song I wrote for the new album and as soon as we finished in the studio I knew it had to be the first single. I can’t wait for everyone to hear it” said James. “Parachute” is available on iTunes now and will impact Hot AC & Top 40 radio in January 2014.